Online Verification
 

鑽石的大小

鑽石的切工講究的不僅僅是鑽石的外形,還有對稱性,拋光度和大小。鑽石的切工直接影響外形的拋光造型。因此,切工對鑽石至關重要;如果切工不得當,那麼鑽石的光澤將大打折扣。

鑽石的淨度色澤取決於其自然,但是,通過技術嫻熟的工匠的加工便可大大提升天然的價值。在進行鑽石切割的時候,鑽石切割工匠必須具備良好的專業素質,才能讓鑽石盡量保留得更大或者更美。為了更好的判定一顆鑽石的切工,相關的鑽石鑑定機構會採用國際一流的衡量設備。

到底如何精確地檢驗鑽石的大小呢?標準包括長度,寬度,重量,尺寸,厚度比例,鑽面百分比,腰圍厚度,底尖,冠角和冠高,亭深和亭部高度,鑽石對稱度等。據說鑽石的切工是鑽石美感的最重要的決定因素。

如果把鑽石切得太薄或太厚,會大大影響鑽石底部和外圍的美感。如果鑽石的美感被削弱,那麼價值就必然大打折扣,自然地售價和質量也不理想了。鑽石的大小標準有:極好,非常好,好,一般,差或異常。

另一方面,則是鑽石的拋光。鑽石的各個刻面都要進行拋光,這樣可以磨去瑕疵,刮痕,磨損和一些記號之類的。通過拋光,可以讓鑽石更加璀璨奪目。拋光好壞的標準與上述的切割標準相似,分為:極好,非常好,好,一般,差或異常。

最後,一顆鑽石的對稱性要跟整顆鑽石的平衡感和規則性保持一致,或者說是刻面的平整度。對稱性的標準與大小和拋光的標準一樣:極好,非常好,好,一般,差或異常。

鑽石的切工包括所有切面的系統的排列的統一性。另外,切面可以改變一顆鑽石的形狀和外觀。鑽石切割工匠決定了一顆鑽石的切法,包括外形和大小。

鑽石的綜合切法在近些年得到了發展,為的是提升鑽石的獨特性。事實上,鑽石的切工的歷史最早可以追溯到中世紀。

20世紀前,鑽石都是很簡單的造型,按今天的說法就是"原始形態"。有些也採用了舊式切割法和玫瑰切割法。有些人熱衷於收藏仿古石,大部分的仿古石就被再次改造成獨具現代美感的寶石,吸引了當代眾多消費者。

在今天,圓款還是最受歡迎的款式。透過先進的分析儀器可以很好的計算出刻面的大小和比例。受訓練的分級師要對鑽石的切割進行評估。高級的分級師會對鑽石的對稱性和大小進行標記。與其他切法相比,圓形設計的標準最為苛嚴;但是,每個國家的切法等級都有所不同。

在高科技發展的今天,激光切割和電腦計算在鑽石切割工序中扮演了重要的角色。有了新的技術,鑽石切割師傅就可以更加準確的進行作業,減少了寶石的浪費。但是,許多鑽石的設計仍不能夠盡顯時尚美感。大多數人還是更看重鑽石的大小,而不注重鑽石的美觀;切割師傅也把工作目標指向保留重量。建議您在選擇鑽石的時候,選擇切工好的,而不要僅僅看鑽石的大小和重量。最重的鑽石並不一定是最美的。

 

切工的選擇

前文提及,在切割鑽石前,切割工匠會考慮多項因素而決定對鑽石的切割。這包括對重量的保留,外部瑕疵或內部成分,外觀設計流行度,以及鑽石原始的外形。

當鑽石還是原石時,大多數的鑽石都是呈現出八面體。像這類的晶體通常會被進行圓形切割處理,因為它們適合圓形,且能最大限度的保留鑽石的大小和重量。更美的切工就是將其處理成像是雙石或不規則的鑽石。很多時候,切割師傅為了更多的留住克拉,也會做成不規則的形狀,畢竟一克拉的價錢都不菲呢,一顆鑽石的重量超過200mg或者一克拉的話,能買個好價錢。

標準的切工法就是圓形切工法,因為這樣可以保留重量,便於設計。買家的時尚風潮越來越多的影響了鑽石的切工造型。目前,混合公主形狀越來越受歡迎,但是,在Art Deco盛行的年代(上世紀30年代),長方階梯形狀是主打款式。鑽石切工師傅十分喜愛這種公主切工法,因為可以避免浪費。縱使圓形切割法是主要的流行及標準款式,但這種切工法的流行趨勢正日漸減弱。

傳統的婚俗讓鑽石和鑽石切工深得人心,這其中的重要意義還在於在那個夢幻且特殊的時刻裡,獻給的是你的摯愛一生。比如,公主切工法更多的適用於訂婚,而心形的鑽戒則更適合在情人節或結婚週年慶上使用。在今天,比較常見的流行的款式有馬眼形,心形,圓形,橢圓形,輻射形,梨形,底座形,公主形以及祖母綠形了。

 
©2008 - 2012 EGL 亞洲,保留所有權利。 The Brand Factory Group 策動
Customer Feedback
Feedback Analytics

Online Verification

DIAMOND PROPORTIONS

Diamond cut refers to a diamond's symmetry, polish and proportioning, not its shape. A diamond cut is a style guide that is used when a diamond is being shaped for polishing. A diamond's brilliance is greatly impacted by its cut; if a diamond is cut poorly, its luminosity will be diminished.

Nature determines a diamond's clarity and colour, but it is the talent and skill of an experienced and learned diamond cutter that will further enhance a diamond's beauty. When making the cut, a diamond cutter must make the critical decision of whether to choose more weight or more brilliance. In order to determine how well a diamond is cut, gemmological laboratories utilize a number of state-of-the-art measuring devices.

Exactly what aspects of a diamond are analyzed when examining a diamond's proportions? These include its length, width and height, its measurements, depth percentage, table percentage, girdle thickness, culet size, crown angle, crown height, pavilion angle, diamond symmetry and pavilion height. It is said that the cut of a diamond is the most important element of its beauty.

If a diamond is cut either too shallow or too deep, the brilliance of the diamond will certainly be affected through its side and bottom. If a diamond's brilliance is diminished in any way, the value of the diamond will definitely go down when it comes to both price and quality. The proportion of a diamond can be considered Excellent, Very Good, Good, Fair, Poor or Unusual.

Another aspect of diamond cuts is polish. All facets of a diamond are polished thoroughly in order to remove as many flaws, scratches, abrasions and marks as possible. Polishing is also performed in order to make the diamond shine as brightly as possible. Grading range is similar to diamond proportions: Excellent, Very Good, Good, Fair, Poor or Unusual.

Lastly, a diamond's symmetry pertains to its balance and regularity or the evenness of its facets. The same grading as both proportion and polish applies: Excellent, Very Good, Good, Fair, Poor or Unusual.

A diamond cut is comprised of a symmetrical arrangement of facets. Together, these facets alter a diamond crystal's shape and appearance. When choosing a cut, several factors are considered by diamond cutters, including the diamond's shape and size.

Multiple diamond cuts have been developed throughout the years for the purpose of enhancing each diamond gemstone's unique material properties. In fact, the history of diamond cuts goes all the way back to the Middle Ages.

Prior to the 1900's, diamonds were cut in such a manner that is considered "primitive" today. Some of these cuts are the old mine cut and the rose cut. While there are a few consumers that are interested in collecting these antique stones, most antique stones are re-cut into modern brilliants to attract today's contemporary consumers.

The round brilliant remains the most popular diamond cut today. Empirical and mathematical analyses have perfected the facet proportions and arrangements of this cut. Trained graders are responsible for evaluating a diamond's cut. Higher grades are given to diamonds whose symmetry and proportions are closest to the benchmark. Compared to other cuts, the round brilliant undergoes the strictest grading standards; however, cut grading ideals vary in different countries.

Today, laser cutting and computer-aided design play a major role in advancing the development of cuts. With new technology, diamond cutters can be more accurate, reducing the waste of these precious gemstones. However, many diamonds continue to be cut in an improper fashion. Prioritizing weight over brilliance has been the practice of some diamond cutters whose aim is to gain financially rather than provide their clientele with high quality products. It is recommended that you choose a diamond that has an ideal to very fine cut, rather than one that simply weighs more. The heaviest diamond isn't necessarily the most beautiful.

Choice of Cut

As mentioned earlier, several factors are considered by diamond cutters prior to choosing a cut. These include carat weight preservation, internal flaw or inclusion location, shape popularity, and the original shape of the rough stone.

In their rough state, most quality diamonds come in the shape of an octahedron. These crystals are typically cut into round brilliant as this shape is suitable for cutting into with only a minimal loss of weight. Fancy cuts are chosen for diamonds when the crystals in the rough stone are somewhat twinned or malformed. There are cases in which diamond cutters accept cuts with lesser symmetry and proportions for the purpose of preserving carat weight, as the per-carat price of a diamond is considerably higher when the stone is over 200 mg, or one carat.

The standard cut for diamonds is the round brilliant cut, due to its proportions and shape being constant. Fashion trends tend to heavily influence the choice of fancy cut by some consumers. Presently, the mixed Princess cut is gaining popularity, while during the Art Deco period, people could not get enough of the step cut baguette. The princess cut is fairly popular among diamond cutters as its design creates the smallest amount of waste of the original crystal.

While the round brilliant remains the standard and most popular cut, its popularity is waning in favour of other, fancier cuts.

Traditions have sprung up that involve giving a fancy diamond cut to a loved one on a specific occasion or celebration. For instance, princess cuts are given for wedding engagements, while heart-cut diamonds are received by women on Valentine's Day or wedding anniversaries. Today, the most famous diamond shapes are marquise, heart, round, oval, asscher, radiant, pear, cushion, princess, and emerald.

 

©2008 - 2012 EGL ASIA, All Rights Reserved. Powered by The Brand Factory Group
Customer Feedback
Feedback Analytics