Online Verification
 

出售裸鑽或鑽石珠寶應注意的事項

在銷售裸鑽或者鑽石珠寶前,先學習鑽石的評估流程是非常重要的。如果能對寶石和珠寶價格的漲幅以及鑽石市場運作的情況有所了解那就更好。鑑於此,本文希望通過以下幾點知識讓您更好的銷售裸鑽或鑽石珠寶。

以下幾點是在銷售裸鑽或鑽石珠寶時需要牢記的:

  1. 了解你的鑽石。不管你要賣的是裸鑽還是鑽石珠寶,你的潛在客戶都希望看到鑽石認證書以及其他具體的信息,比如鑽石顏色切工鑽石的形狀克拉數,等等。一份完整的鑽石鑑定證書應包括4C標準的內容(CUT-切工,CLARITY-淨度,CARAT-克拉數,COLOUR-顏色)。這是正確評估一顆鑽石的基本要素,也是為了更好地出售你的鑽石。
  2. 了解市場。可以參考鑽石價格指數(DPI),從這裡你會了解市場上的裸鑽每克拉的市場平均價格走勢。鑽石賣家可以根據手中的鑽石的特點進行相關的市場了解,比較同類鑽石在市場上的售價。當然,也不能單從認證書或者什麼評估對鑽石進行準確定價,但這是可以具備參考價值的。 DPI還可以提供整個鑽石價格變化的趨勢。可以通過鑽石未來走勢對其價格進行預測,以及市場行情(例如,新礦產的開發情況,現有礦石的開採情況,大宗商品的流通趨勢等等)。這些都對你的鑽石銷售有幫助的。鑽石市場跟其他的投資市場一樣,瞬息萬變,十分複雜,通過對鑽石行情的宏觀了解,可以讓你在銷售中更加游刃有餘。
  3. 通過增加鑽石裝飾或剔除鑽石珠寶中的其他珠寶。鑽石,黃金和其他稀有物品具有交換價值,珠寶什麼的價值相對低些。一件古董或者精美的設計可能會增加一顆鑽石的價值,因此,你可以通過先把珠寶的價值先剔除,爾後再對鑽石本身進行估價。但是,配有珠寶的鑽石的整體價值也可能會被珠寶商忽略,珠寶商會把珠寶單品堪稱是"黃金邊角料"-其價值只不過是配重罷了。在這樣情況下,最好是把鑽石的價值和珠寶單品的價值分開計算。這樣才可以更好地體現寶石的價值。
  4. 獲得珠寶鑑定家的資質認證書。在進行鑽石銷售之前,還需要完成一些重要的手續工作。最重要的就是獲得珠寶鑑定專家的資質認證書,如EGL亞洲鑽石實驗室的鑑定證書。珠寶認證機構會按照4C標準對鑽石進行每個標準和層次的評測。獲得這樣的鑽石認證書也是進行鑽石銷售的重要的第一步,尤其是如果這顆鑽石還沒有獲得過任何資質認證書的時候。這樣可以幫助買家或賣家區分合成鑽石或者藍色無色鑽石,保護大家的利益。如果不這樣做,作為購買者,將承擔極大的經濟風險,而賣家呢,則可能會因此惹上官司。另一個重要的意義就是,資質證書對鑽石和珠寶本身的價值進行了權威的保證。越有資質的珠寶商越有能力修復珠寶自帶的瑕疵,也就能讓珠寶更好地發揮其價值。另一方面,許多珠寶商的做法是會去大量收購珠寶,這樣就更需要其自身俱備良好的專業素質和知識水平。因此,要想知道珠寶商的採購價也不是一件容易的事。
  5. 認清真實的買家。真實的鑽石買家會在一些機構裡留下自己的信息,就是那些提供鑽石價格走勢的機構。作為一個合格的鑽石賣家,對這類的機構的掌握可以幫助其認清真實買家的情況,分析買家的購買意願和計劃,這樣在買賣談判中會有優勢。記住,珠寶商是要賺錢的,但是作為賣家,其目的是找准最佳的銷售點,把珠寶賣給珠寶商。不要去當舖或者隨便找一些報紙上的廣告上的小攤小販。當舖的人給你的價格肯定是比市場價格低很多的,但也是一些不好的沒有什麼價值的鑽石。
  6. 小心謹慎。賣家被珠寶商欺騙的事兒時有發生,因為珠寶商會偷換鑽石。因為很難發現不良珠寶商的做法,所以在銷售過程中一定要小心再小心,特別是當珠寶商出價遠遠低於市場價格的時候。珠寶商索取的交易費雖然不是很讓人接受,但也是可以理解的,這樣珠寶商才不太可能會欺騙他的顧客。
  7. 權衡郵購或在線購物的風險和好處。很多鑽石買家都會在網絡上購買鑽石,因為網絡上銷售的鑽石一般有些瑕疵,因此售價較低。賣家可能會通過這些方式省一些錢。但是,網絡上銷售的鑽石價格比較低,是因為這些都是非法銷售的,都是地下交易市場而來的,這類的鑽石不能夠得到KIMBERLY PROCESS認證。因此,網絡上的鑽石買家就可能給你一些遠遠低於你期望的鑽石。如果想嘗試這類銷售方式,就要非常注意去獲取鑽石鑑定證書了。一份鑽石鑑定證書包括鑽石的圖片,注意事項,鑽石的特點描述等等,這樣,才能在網絡上說服買家購買你的鑽石,買家才能覺得購買是有保障的,才能有權利把"替代鑽石"退貨。賣家也應該保證送貨簽收的程序,保證鑽石被送達顧客手中後,客戶能簽收。

以上只不過是一些提示信息,讓您在銷售裸鑽或鑽石珠寶時應考慮的情況。大多數銷售人士都會有這樣的經歷,多多學習好好準備吧。

 
©2008 - 2012 EGL 亞洲,保留所有權利。 The Brand Factory Group 策動
Customer Feedback
Feedback Analytics

Online Verification

What You Need to Know When Selling Loose Diamonds or Diamond Jewellery

When looking to sell loose diamonds or diamond jewellery it is important to educate yourself on the diamond valuation process. Understanding how the diamond market functions and its impact on how diamond dealers value your diamond on a day to day basis can also be very valuable knowledge. With that in mind, this article hopes to place you in a better position when selling loose diamonds or diamond jewellery.

Below are some tips to keep in mind when selling loose diamonds or diamond jewellery:

1. Know your diamond. Whether you are selling loose diamonds or a piece of diamond jewellery, get acquainted with your diamond and be ready to answer any questions that your buyer might have. The potential buyer may ask you whether or not the diamond comes with a diamond certificate or about other details such as diamond colour, diamond cut, diamond shape, diamond carat weight, and more. If you do have diamond certification on hand, familiarize yourself with the diamond 4C standard (cut, clarity, carat and colour). Having knowledge about the characteristics of your diamond will help you determine a proper valuation and ideal selling price for your diamond.

2. Learn about the market. The Diamond Prices Index (DPI) takes an accounting of the average retail price per caret of loose diamonds from online jewellers. You can search according to your diamond's characteristics what similar diamonds are being sold for on the market. This is not a substitute for an appraisal or a certificate, but it is still generally helpful information. The DPI can also inform you of the general trend of diamond price changes. Attempting to forecast future prices is virtually impossible, but by following news in the market (I.e. discoveries of new mines, slowing of production in existing mines, trends in the commodities markets, etc.), you can view diamonds like many other investment classes- extremely complicated, but worth attempting to comprehend.

3. Consider adding to or subtracting jewellery from your diamond. While diamonds, gold and other precious materials have commodity-like features, jewellery is less so. An antique piece, or attractive design might add value to your diamond and you can get the jewellery piece itself separately appraised to come up with a new valuation number. However, the value of the adjoined jewellery piece might also be disregarded by the jeweller and be viewed as "scrap gold"- only worth its value in weight. In that case, you would be better off separating the diamond from the jewellery piece and saving the piece for another stone.

4. Get the diamond appraised by a gemmologist with a good reputation and qualifications. If you choose to sell your diamonds to a jewellery store, first get an appraisal and certification from a gem laboratory like EGL Asia. The gem laboratory will conduct an appraisal by assessing the four Cs. Getting a diamond certification is actually good first step after buying a diamond, especially if the diamond doesn't have an existing certificate. This helps protect against mistakenly buying or selling synthetic diamonds. As a buyer you would lose money, and as a seller you could put yourself in danger of legal recourse.

5. Approach a credible diamond buyer. A good sign of a credible diamond buyer is that they have memberships to organizations that provide up-to-date information on current values in the diamond market. Having a basic familiarity with these organizations and their current market research will also aid your efforts to secure a reasonable value for your diamond or diamond jewellery. Remember that jewellers need to make a profit as well, but as the seller, your objective is to get right at the top of the jeweller's willingness to pay. Avoid pawn shops or running newspaper ads. Pawnbrokers typically offer far below market value and are usually unqualified to evaluate diamond values.

6. Be vigilant. There are instances of people having fallen prey to deceitful jewellers who pulled a switch on their diamond after they looked away for only a short period of time. Also avoid selling to or even negotiating with jewellers that give you a "low-ball" offer that is far below the market-appraised value. Accounting for the jeweller's transaction costs is understandable but jewellers that run respectable operations won't attempt to swindle their customers.

7. Consider the risks and benefits of selling by mail or online. Many diamond buyers believe that buying online will afford them better prices due to the lack of a middleman's profit. As a seller, you may be able to recoup some of that money. However, some diamonds that are sold online can be obtained at lower prices because they are illegal back-market blood diamonds, which are not certified by the Kimberly Process. Hence, online diamond buyers might have unrealistically low expectations about what your diamond should be sold for. If you do wish to try this method, getting a diamond certification is very important. Having a certification, including pictures of your diamond and notes about its characteristics can reassure your buyer about buying a diamond sight unseen and also protect you if the buyer decides to return it and sends you a "substitute diamond". Insure all diamond shipments to the full price of the diamond and with a delivery confirmation required with the package.

These are just some of the tips that you can apply as you educate yourself on selling loose diamonds or diamond jewellery. Most people will sell a piece or more of precious jewellery during their lifetimes and it is always best to be knowledgeable and well-prepared.

 

©2008 - 2012 EGL ASIA, All Rights Reserved. Powered by The Brand Factory Group
Customer Feedback
Feedback Analytics